Freeletics App

Today I am doing a completely different post from what I’ve done over the past few weeks. As the title reads, it’s a review of 2 fitness apps (under one company). Let’s get started.

As you’ve known, I have a passion for health / wellness / fitness related things. One of the fitness applications that I’ve taken up in the past 5 months is the above mentioned. I started freeletics coach in Septembver last year.

What is freeletics? Freeletics is a high intensity body-weight only program where it can be done anywhere, from the comfort of your own home, gym to even outdoors.  The company started out in Munich Germany in 2013. The fitness application can be downloaded to your phone, laptop and even computer. When you start out i.e sign up, you’ll get access to the ‘basic version’ i.e half of the complete program. To access the full benefits i.e the coach, you will need to pay for it. You can subscribe in a 3, 6 and 12 month period. It’s like having your own mobile personal trainer. Think function training here.

Why did I start freeletics? Basically I wanted a program that focuses on calisthenics so I can improve on pull-ups, pistol squats etc and to try new exercises. I’m also a fan of the time of  the amount of time it takes to complete the workout. I already weight train 2-3 times (max 4) a week and it’s flexible enough to adjust according to my schedule. Furthermore, I enjoy the challenges that freeletics coach gives me every week (hell days and weeks included.) I’ll explain the later.

What’s the coach? If you decide to purchase the full coach program, you will be asked to fill in your statistics, goals and fitness scales. You will be then asked to complete exercises i.e 10 sit ups depending on the fitness scale and it’s timed. After that, then your coach will tailor your first week depending on the amount of days you have in a week.

Also, you will have 3 types of programs. Cardio, Cardio/Strength and Strength, depending on what you want to achieve. The Cardio program is for those who want to lose weight / tone. Exercises include the beginner versions of the exercises such as sprawls,knee pushups, HH (Hands) squats, lunges etc to improve cardiovascular endurance. The cardio / strength program is a mix of the regular option exercises such as burpees, squats, lunges, pushups. It also includes strength exercises too. It’s a good starting point for those who want to improve on current fitness level and can also be used to aid weight loss. The strength version is the program that is purely focused on building strength and muscle. This can include burpee squat jumps, high jumps etc. Short runs and sprints can be included as well.

There are 6 advanced moves that can be unlocked and coach won’t include them unless you unlock it. These moves are: pull-ups, pistol squats, toes to bar, one hand pushups, handstand pushups and muscle ups. The only ones I’ve unlocked are pull-ups, pistols and toes to bar. Next goal is one handed push-ups. To fully experience the coach and to add variety, I suggest unlocking at least one of the moves.

I started with the cardio / strength program until week 10 and from week 11 onwards, I focused on strength to focus on building strength and muscle. The cardio / strength was good but felt that I wanted to focus towards building muscle and strength, hence the switch.  Being already fit before commencing freeletics helped me progress to the strength. Whatever goal you have, feel free to change it up.

The first week isn’t meant to be easy, especially with Aphrodite (burpees, squats, sit-ups in 50, 40, 30, 20, 10). Oh yes, the workouts are named after gods. I suggest signing up to freeletics to know the name of gods. Some workouts have short runs to 2km run in one workout. I remember doing my first Aphrodite and was wiped out.

So what are hell days and hell week? These are the weeks that are designed to pus h your body to the limit and challenge yourself even more, mentally and physically. Hell days week is in week 7  (and every 7th week of a 15 week block). Hell days are two workouts depending on the amount of days you choose to workout. Hell week (every 15 weeks) however is 7 days straight training of two workouts each day. Hell days wasn’t too bad but was challenging. Having done my first ever hell week at the end of November, I sometimes combined two hell week days i.e 4 workouts in one day as I had day restraints. At the end I have never been totally wiped out during that week and accomplished.

Downsides:  The application has had it fair share of bugs and crashes. I experienced complete closure of the app whilst having Itunes on. When progressing to the new coach we, the time aligns with European time so you have to wait until after 5 days of coach week passed. The cost can be too much for some countries. Honestly, wait for the 30% off coach to purchase first timers. I also experienced sickness before Christmas and I believe it was due to the fact I took on a very heavy freeletics workload, combined with my weight training. Right now I’m down to 2 days a week due to a  new lifting program that takes o up 3-4 times a week. Plus I’m also doing running coach, which i’ll cover in a later post.

To see results, nutrition is the key to results and performance. I believe that with freeletics and my weight training , it’s reshaped my body to a new level. Also, rest and recovery is important. It’s definitely not easy but worth it.

Rating: 5/5. Once my subscription finishes in March, I will continue this freeletics journey.

So, there sums my review for freeletics and if you’re interested, then sign up and start! 🙂

x Lydia

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

