Transformation story

It’s finally the weekend, yay!

I mentioned in a couple of posts back that I’ll do a weight loss/transformation kind of story.

The reason I decided to do this story was because this topic was raised in the ‘confidence/self assurance’ section. Throughout my schooling life, I struggled with my weight and eating habits. During that time, I was diagnosed with Grave’s disease which didn’t respond to treatment which lead to the removal of the thyroid. Now I have to take medications for the rest of my life. I used my overactive thyroid to eat whatever I wanted, such as extra portions. When high school ended, I wanted to feel comfortable in my own skin and unhappy with my weight. I desired being slimmer and toned  and even to wear nice clothing like shorts and skirts.

The tipping point was when first university ended and I was at 71kg. The most heaviest that I’ve been. A local gym opened up near my home and I’ve been a member with them since then (and upgraded to visit other gyms). I started out with a PT but then progressed to training on my own. However, I needed motivation and so I tried out the les mills classes and went through a phase of being a les mills fanatic. This lasted around 4-5 years.

I went on a family holiday at the end of 2011 however put most of the weight back on:

380417_147409578705698_1939863772_n (2)

In 2012 I resumed the above but also adding to the start of full time work and Les mills training, I experienced two colds within a 3 month span. The start of 2013 marked a huge change in eating habits. I began eating carbs most meals and adding in protein and vegetables, while still maintaining a flexible eating approach. Before this, I’d cut carbs at nights and honestly, that didn’t work for me.

Doing every single class worked however over time, I wanted to learn more exercises, experienced, sick twice a year and experienced muscle tightness mainly in the neck and shoulders. This was all due to the repetitive nature of Les Mills which focused on high rep based exercises and not balancing other muscle groups. Plus I wasn’t feeling challenged anymore. The classes were also cardio based and I wasn’t achieving the muscles I wanted. I dropped a lot of weight from 2012 to 2013 going from 68kg to 56kg. Looking at the photo, I realised how thin I’d become:

007 (3)

Then I discovered ‘The Zone’ fitness first, a world first in Dynamic Movement Training from weights, hiit, suspension training and body weight training. It’s changed a lot now since it opened in August 2013. I dropped all the Les Mills and went for those classes and must I say, had it not been for that gym, my body wouldn’t be the same now. From that gym, I’ve developed friendships and been to whatever social events they’ve organised. My body shape was in the best shape ever, so yes it was working.

The Zone still works, but on the other hand, I wanted to improve on skills and reintroduce my own training.My focus shifted to building strength and muscle. In recent times, I’ve introduced Freeletics since September 2015 into my routine and it has been the most challenging program to this date. A hell of body weight training (and recently interval runs) and the time it takes is less than a gym session is what also attracted me to this program. The combination of both these training styles have re-shaped my body more than ever:

So now I feel stronger, fitter, more muscle, flexible, better posture and learned new skills (can even do a chin up now).  I will continue this journey and make adjustments to training as needed.

That’s my story and maybe inspire / motivate those who want to start on their fit journey.

x

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

