Freeletics Gym App

Dear fellow readers,

I’m back with another review of the freeletics series. Today’s post will be on the  Freeletics Gym app.  I don’t know how I’ll structure this so I’ll write this as i’ll go. This application was released March 2016 after the Running app, which will be reviewed in a separate post. Originally, freeletics started out with just the bodyweight coach. Last year Freeletics decided to launch new products to expand on the product range. Before offically releasing the apps, a select group of people were chosen to try out the apps for 15 weeks (correct me if wrong). There are youtube videos on the selected people to show you their transformations with using these apps.

Once upon a time freeletics gym was a separate payment. Now you don’t need to worry about that now since you need to pay for only one coach 🙂

Anyways, what is the Freeletics Gym App? Basically the main motto is to to become your ‘strongest self’, through a mixture of rowing and weighted exercises targeting all the way from the upper body, abs to lower body.  Released in March 2016, the application contains 4 components. The first one is Strength in the form of couplets of opposing muscle groups for example biceps and triceps (Upper Body IV) to back squats and romanain deadlifts (Lower Body I). These exercises will increase your strength and build muscle.

The second one is Conditioning, designed to burn fat and strength endurance. These come in the super-hero named workouts ranging from upper body, abs, lower body to full body conditioning. Examples include Nott (Abs), Odin (Full Body), Hel (Lower Body), Borr (Upper Body). Be prepared to sweat and have your heart pumping. Oh and feel the burn in a lot of these workouts!

Third is Endurance to increase stamina and burn fat.  This is mainly rowing in ladder, intervals and pyramid. I like to include these time to time again but likewise, I can only head to the gym and do these. Your legs will be shaking, especially when you’ve done a heavy lower body workout.

The Final part is the Challenges to test your fitness. These are repetitions of one single exercises (50 or 100) with weight or no weight.  Think 50 back squats with 30kg.

There is also hell week every 15 weeks, which is 3 days only with 4 workouts each day, designed to test and challenge you. Similar concept to the other freeletics applications. In contrast, there are technique weeks as well. The workouts in these weeks are less intense up to two workouts a day.  It’s like a de-loading phase to focus on form and technique to enable you to beocme stronger and progress with each workout in future coach weeks :).

The Gym coach is suitable for every fitness level, from the absolute beginner to the experienced. If you’re a beginner, coach will allocate learning weeks to learn the movements with correct form.

The coach programs every 15 weeks depending on your training goals.As I’ve been regualrly lifting weights for years, I went straight into the exercises with lowered weights. The beginning was fairly easy with the allocated weights however coach will ramp up the weight and volume later into your training program. One time, I had coach give me 10kg for an abs conditioning workout and a fairly heavy weight for a conditioning workout (17.5kg for Vor) and I couldn’t keep to form. Just as long as you give feedback then coach will scale back. Also you have the option to activate dips and pullups and coach will include these in your program. Rowing can be activated  but if you don’t have rowers, coach will simply replace with conditioning workouts instead.

An example of a coach week:

img_6604
Not a success for the wieghted pull ups though 😉

If you have access to the gym then you’re all set. Home gym set up, all you need is barbell with adjustable plates, especially with the strength couplets, pullup and dip station and a rowing machine.  Would highly recommend a second barbell to make the tranisition between couplets easier for the home gym. Dumbells can work but those won’t count as ‘star’ workouts due to the movement standards not being achieved with a barbell.

The good things about the app is that I don’t have to think about a routine to do when I head to the gym and not worry about the amount of repetition, weights and sets per exercise. Even when I’ve had a long day, I can whip out my phone and press play on my coach week. The layout itself is simple and easy to use as well. It does give me variety into my training week along with bodyweight and running. I’ve done approximately 40 weeks, counting that I am in restart coach week 6 now, which leads to my next point.

Things that can be improved are not giving me the same couplets 2-3 weeks in a row. I find that the less coach days that I do, the more repetitive it gets, which is why I aim for 3-4 gym workouts a week. The 2 days a week is if I need to focus on other coach programs. Week 34-35 into coach and I found myself with repetitive workouts. Changing goals and with restarting coach weeks worked for me. This can be done though coach settings and honestly without this, I would be bored. I would like to see more variation with the current exercises such as overhead squats, side or reverse lunges and even a clean and press.

Lifting weights not only improves your muscle tone, but also keeps your bones strong for later on in life! You’ll also look good and feel stronger in everyday tasks ;). Ladies ,you will not become bulky since we don’t stimulate enough testoerone and have slower muscle twitch fibres than men do. Instead, you will become stronger and leaner, plus your muscles, espeically the butt, upper back to arms, even back will look good in those dresses.

In terms of my own changes, I’ve definetly added more muscle to my frame in terms of arms and back and crosstrains well with bodyweight and running. My core has become stronger as well. Even though I haven’t reached a star with Upper Body III (pullups and dips), I’ve attempted them to the best of my abiity and has helped me with upper body strength epsecially when doing a bent arm hang.

Overall I would recommend this coach and in conjuction to bodyweight and/or running, you will have an all rounded training regime to look forward to :). So, what are you waiting for?

Rating: 8.5-9/10

Stay tuned for running app review!

x Ciao

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

