Personal experience with Aspergers.

Hello again,

As you may have seen that I was diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome as a child. So I decided to shed my light on this topic.

The definition of Asperger’s is ‘high functioning’ on the Austim spectrum disorder spectrum and have difficulty with social, emotional and communcation skills. They view the world differently and have particular interests. High functioning means it’s less severe than compared to people on the Autism spectrum disorder.

When I was younger it was hard growing up. Getting upset over little things but most likely being sensitive, being socially awkard (having little friends), found it hard to adapt to change from primary to high school. I was put in a special class for the first 2 years of primary school. Being diagnosed early and with appropriate therapy did help me become ok, with a few slip ups here and there. The high school years consisted of school, tutoring, minimal social life. Honestly, I feel like I didnt need those resources as I felt I was spoonfed rather than using my own brain. Also I didn’t like my body image as I struggled with weight.

I happened to be a ‘walking dictionary’ when I was younger. Aspergians tend to be wired differnetly and see thing differently.

The high school from university in contrast was a better tranisition as I really dislked the school I was in. I didn’t feel upset or anything like that. This may be different from notmal Aspergerians who can sometimes struggle with univeristy.  Subject wise in university, I ended up dropping out of arts as I really wanted to finish my degree. Plus the coursework wasn;t easy as the language progressed. Same with science subjects where I only lasted 1 year in a pharmacoloiy/physiology and decided it wasn’t for me.  That’s where I switched to a dafety major in which the content was easier to absorb from a commerce subject to a statistics which was ok to me. I’m definetly no math person either and found words / writing suited me better.

Aspergians struggle with the social side of things, can become easily overwhelmed. I didn’t really get into the whole student parties, clubs etc. When I was invited, I declined.  I did however undertake casual jobs and volunteer work throughout my degree. Sure sex was a common thing but I just didn’t get it nor did it cross my mind. Looking back I didn’t really care, aside from the one encounter (see first timers story).

Yeah sure I had a few crush rejections but honestly, we go through that. There have been one’s that show interest but I have no attraction to.

If I desire something, I find it hard to communicate hence I prefer the males to ask me if they are interested. I couldn’t do all the talking as it sometimes drains me brain cells (if you are an Aspie, then you’ll understand).  I too can become overwhelmed on whether they are looking for the same thing or not. If I go through a dry spell then let it be. If there was an opporunity then I’d take it but likewise, not going to overthink it.

Now that I’m older, if i do get invited or if there is a social event, I don’t mind going although I’d rather be dancing the night away  (if there was one) then sitting around and chatting.

I keep things short and sweet and if i need to explain, then I am happy to explain just as long as we are both on the same page.

Making out and excessive cuddling doesn’t do it for me as gives me a sense of being suffocated. I dont mind being ‘touched’ elsewhere though.

Work wise, in relation to my last post, Aspergians can loose focus and that’s what I feel with my past two full time jobs. Sure there are ways to say X and yes these are techniques but do i really have to be a robot?  It doesn’t fullfill me if you have read the last post.

So there is my experience with  Aspergers Syndrome and for those who have goals from personal to learning, I’d say go for it!

Till next time

x L

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

