Why did I choose to study Public Health?

Hello dear readers,

As you already know from my previous posts that I am currently studying public health and currently working in health adminsitration (records to be specific).  I thought I’ll share my story on why I choose this and not a course related to my job?

Basically I graduated with a bachelor of Science in Safety, Health and Environment. After sitting in uni for sometime and graduating 5 years ago, I knew I needed to find full-time work. Months before my grduation ceremony in November 2011, my mum mentioned working in hospital and took it as an opportunity to try. During my studies, I did a range of volunteer work at univeristy and took on student casual jobs mostly in student adminsitration, even a stint in christmas retail the first year of univeristy ended. These were mainly to bump my experience so I didn’t want to be a graduate without experience (yes this happens). From these experiences, I enjoyed being able to make a difference to students and acquire general clerical experience. I did a stint at a pharmacy a few months after but the experience and environment was isolating, overwhelming and depressing, nor did I want to work for elderly pharmacy store owners and so I quit and it wasn’t for me.

I started looking for health jobs and applied for a local but wasnt successful that time. That was December 2011 and then I went on holiday and held off job hunting until I got back. January 2012,  I applied for a records position but at a hosptial on the North Side, interviewed twice but ended up with a temporary position and May was when I started full time. Mostly behind the scenes work and a year later and my contract was extended. However, I wasn’t being fullfilled as it became repetitive and that time I started looking for permanent jobs and I was successful in securing one closer to home in a newly created department to where I am now, same field.

August 2015 hit and I decided to go back into study as I needed change from the indutry I am currently in. At that stage, I was getting exposure to outside the department and I still remember being a secretary for the steering committee for a project. Management changed and unfortunately I haven’t had an opportuniy to outside thie department last year. I also paid all my debt from my previous study. One of my aspirations was health policy but now am considering enviromental health, communciable disease or research / project roles. At that stage, I decided to attend the post-graduate nights in Septmeber and then the univeristy i’m currently at was introducing my current degree to commence in 2016 and went ot that to. I applied online and then November 2015. I was offered my current degree and am about to resume second year very soon.

I’ve also mentioned in one of my previous posts that I am no longer inspired and fullfilled on where I am working. Intellect is also what I am looking in my future job. Yes I have colleagues that are doing coding courses / health administration courses but honestly, I am not interested nor is it my passion in that area. For the time being, I’ll just take on roles that suit me until I can get roles in my desired areas.  I really need to get out of this bubble that I in.

I would rather work with research / projects / rather than being chained to a clerical dead end job with uninspiring colleagues way off my league, brain turned into mush and feeling dead inside. A year ago I was working on my skills but after last minute changes in roles not being filled approrpriately in the final quarter of last year and seeing it all,  I’m done. Yes for reselience but you reach a a point and need to get out. Another rant done.

I find that public health does serve a purpose in life in preventing, promoting and prolonging life.

At times I do worry whether I will get a foot in the door in public health. Where I work isn’t helping me achieve this so time to seek another avenue. I’m not on campus frequently either. Maybe I want to switch to health policy degree or switch to something else or transfer. I’m at a loss here… The jobs I see and interested in require a completed masters, experience  and skils in course that I haven’t even done yet :(.  A lot of these roles are temporary and I know I am a long way to where I want to be.

On the upside, 2 Distinctions so far :).

There’s my story and I hope you enjoyed reading it or if you are feeling the same then I empathise with you.

Blogging here makes me feel better.

Until next time.

x L

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

